They keep ruining my sleep.

I keep getting told of for sleeping too much and I really don’t see what the problem is.

I love to sleep, I plan my day around my sleeping. Most of the time all I think about  the next time I can get a chance to lie down and get some more sleep. It’s just the way I am and always have been.

I think one of the issues is that I go to bed really late at night and am back up early next morning, so I end up spending the rest of the day making up for it.

What I hate is being prevented from sleeping or being disturbed from it, that’s really annoying and irritating. The people in my house have learnt not to mess with me when I’m tired and grumpy or disturb me when I’m sleeping. Otherwise I’m just a really nice person😛

But apart from nagging family and friends ruining your sleep these are other things that can ruin your sleep too.

Use your bedroom as a stimulating multipurpose room. Filling your bedroom with televisions, gaming systems, computers, telephones, and other gadgets will ensure a plethora of stimulation will be at hand. Unfortunately, none of these will help you to sleep better. Using them just prior to bed will prompt your brain to be active, and this is the last thing you need to fall asleep. I must say I take my iPhone to bed and have a TV in my room and I have no trouble falling asleep.😛
Eat a large meal or drink lots of fluids right before bed. There’s nothing like a full bladder or stomach to disrupt your sleep. Getting up to urinate will interrupt sound rest, so drinking too much before bed may mean multiple trips to the bathroom during the night. Eating a large meal near bedtime may provoke heartburn symptoms when you lie down that can make you uncomfortable. Taking a pillow to the bathroom sometimes helps😛
When you can’t sleep, just lie there and suffer. If you are having trouble getting to sleep, the last thing you need to do is lie there awake. If this happens chronically, as may occur in insomnia, you may learn to associate your bed with anxiety and not being asleep. Rather than tossing and turning, try a relaxing activity like reading. Or call a mate and have a chin wag😛
I have one of these issues just about every night when I try to sleep somewhere that is too cold, too warm, or too noisy. It’s no use trying to sleep somewhere that is stimulating to our senses. If the stereo is blaring, the lights are on, and it’s stifling, how can you expect to sleep? Subtle variations on this theme will likewise make it hard to catch a few winks. The other night I was freezing when the power went. I was awake all night. 
Take prolonged naps. This one may be a little controversial. Some cultures promote the midday nap, and many people swear by them. If you sleep well at night, it may not be a problem. However, if you are having trouble sleeping then, the last thing you need to do is to add fuel to the fire by sleeping some during the day. Naps diminish your ability to sleep at night, and excessive daytime sleepiness may suggest a sleep disorder.
Enjoy an alcoholic drink, cup of coffee, or cigarette just prior to bed. Though grandpa may have always enjoyed an alcoholic “nightcap” to get to sleep, this is actually not helpful. It may cause you to feel a little drowsy, but it fragments the stages of your sleep and makes it more disrupted. Caffeinated beverages like coffee, tea, soda pop, and foods like chocolate work as stimulants to keep you awake. Likewise, nicotine from a cigarette will ruin your ability to sleep, and the craving associated with withdrawal may wake you during the night. These things should be avoided in the six hours before bed. I think I need to stop drinking diet coke, it might be what my problem is.😦
When you get busy, just sleep less. We all get busy for different reasons, and it’s easy to find extra time in the day by sleeping less. Why waste eight hours in bed? Wouldn’t you rather be watching television, playing on the internet, or spending time with your friends or family? Unfortunately the quality of the time we spend awake is significantly impacted by not getting enough rest. If you cut back on sleep, you may find that you aren’t gaining much if you spend the day bleary-eyed and befuddled. I seem to be that way anyway no matter how much I sleep😦
Stay active until the moment you hop into bed. Sleep is a quiet, relaxing activity, so it doesn’t make much sense to try to transition to that directly from something that is quite the opposite. Our bodies don’t do well with abrupt changes. The same is true for getting ready to sleep. Quiet sleep rituals such as reading, listening to calming music, or taking a nice bath helps prepare us mentally and physically for sleep. If I take a bath or shower I’m wide awake!

Exercise before bed. Although it is ideal to exercise every day — and this will likely ensure a good night’s sleep — doing it right before bed is a bad idea. It causes difficulties as your body will be revved up when you should be winding down. I’m too lazy to exercise. 

Vary your sleep time from one day to the next.We are creatures of habit, and our sleep is no exception. If you go to bed and get up at different times every day, your body will have no sense of when it is supposed to feel tired and sleep. This ultimately depends on our natural clock called the circadian rhythm, and varying the times we are asleep can negatively influence it. By keeping a consistent schedule, we are able to sleep better.
So there you have it, if you want to sleep well and undisturbed these are some great tips. Taken from net but most of these are common sense things anyway. Wish everyone to sleep well just like me.😛

46 responses to “They keep ruining my sleep.

  1. Good post. I for one manage to have deep sleep for around 4 to 5 hours per night – and in all honesty that’s all I need. That said, Sunday is my sleep in day, not a long sleep in but maybe a few hours more than during the week.

    I think sex is a good way to enjoy your sleep, having sex before, during or after your sleep makes the sleep more valuable, more enjoyable.

    One thing I hate is when the cat kicks off the car alarm in the drive way in the middle of the night – its a bloody pain.

    • Good point you make BAB but this post was about the things that ruin your sleep, and obviously sex is not one of them.

      Foxes are always around here at night and every time they step on our driveway or go into our back garden it switches on our security lights, the glare is really strong and just shines into our bedrooms, that’s just as annoying.

      Thanks for dropping by, have a good day.😛

      • For some, sex may well disturb them in their sleep. Especially if the other partner has the intentions to engage. But everyone is different.

        The other thing that annoy(ed) me in the past, when I purchased a clock for my bedroom. The seconds hand would constantly tick – tick -tick away. I would some times just listen to the ticks. It was annoying. That clock now lives in the garage (somewhere).

        • That’s why for bedrooms digital clocks are best. I’d never put a normal clock in my bedroom.

          Sometimes I end up crashing on the sofa at night or if we have visitors and what I’ve noticed is the ticking is really loud compared to the fact that you never hear it during the day. What’s good if you can’t sleep is count the ticks. I used to think there were hidden messages in the ticking or sometimes I think I can hear my favourite song in the ticks.😛

  2. Interesting article, I see how precious sleep is to you. Since my Uni days, I slept very little and then when I started working in the City, it was early starts so the hrs of sleep for me didn’t alter much.

    On average, I get 5hrs a day, however it’s 5hrs of quality sleep. I only hit the bed when I am on the verge of “dropping off”, which means the minute I hit the pillow I am knocked out, don’t ponder up at the ceiling.

    I drink tea before I got to bed, 4 times a week and it helps me, strangely….

    I tend not to opt for nap’s because it really messes up my body clock.

    You need to get into a regular routine prior to sleep so that the body clock makes neccessary adjustments🙂

    Happy Napping!

    • When I was at uni I remember planning my studying around my sleep times. If I don’t nap during the day I can cope for a few days then after that I need to get my head down.

      If I visit a friend in the afternoon I have no qualms of falling asleep on her sofa. They are all used to it now, they know not to call me between certain hours as all they will get is a right grumpy bitch on the other line.😛

      I know if I stopped napping during the day and went to bed earlier I would be fine but our household routine is such that I don’t get into bed till after 12 and then I need at least an hour to wind down. So I end up doing catch ups. But my sleeping patterns are excessive, even I know that, I think it’s more a habit now.

      Happy napping it is😛

  3. Hi Aneesa!🙂

    Yes, I too have sleep demons due to my medication, so getting to sleep is a problem and ditto waking.

    Trouble is I also like my dreams and hate to be disturbed in the middle of one!😦

    At the moment I wake at 5am long enough to turn up the heat and then sleep until dawn, but in a few weeks my sleep pattern will shift again and I’ll be struggling to get up at a sociable hour…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. I don’t see anything wrong with sleeping.. but it will sometimes keep me from completing task that I have to do throughout the day. So I try to go to bed a bit earlier now (I used to be an insomniac), just so that I can have the best of both worlds.. sleep and having time for important things🙂

    • Hi Kay I do find that with the amount of sleeping I do many things don’t get done. Also when I can’t sleep I will be doing all sorts. Like this morning I was up at 5am doing internet banking and paying bills, it was meant to be done last week.

      So yeah when I’m in a proper routine I think my day would be more structured.

    • The other day I planned a sleeping session in the afternoon then a friend turned up.. i was furious MC… anyways she had no where to go so I said fine you can come in but you have to lie on that sofa as im gonna lie on the other one and go to sleep. she agreed. I gave her a blanket, cup of tea and the remote control.. we chatted for a bit then I fell asleep. When I woke up she was ready to leave. she said it was the best afternoon she ever had and we should do it again soon.

      Now.. why can’t all guests be like that.

  5. im a very light sleeper…I also try to not sleep during the say cause then I have problems sleeping at night…and the rest of my life gets ruined!!!

    cascade of abnormality I tell you.

    • God only knows… I have the same problem no matter what happens I wake up at 6.30 every morning… even weekends.. its really annoying… im wide awake and i get so annoyed…

  6. I love sleeping too!
    Which reminds me, yesterday, majority of my classmates were sleeping under the Geography book..🙂
    It was awesome!😀
    Yeehaa!😛 She was so dissed..😉

    P.S- you know the sound i hate the most?
    * Guess. *

    MY ALARM CLOCK! ARRGH! ( I hate it when its 5.00 am and my alarm goes “titititititititititititttttttttttiiiiiiiiii..” until i wake up! >.<

    Love this post.. Great topic😉

    -Thaanie ♥

    • Hi Thaanie how are ya? I used to fall asleep in class too.. especially on a warm sunny day when the golden sun would be shining in.. we would be on the 5th floor in english…. ah bliss… used to go home feeling very refreshed…

      Hate the alarm clock too.. but my body alarm clock always wakes me up earlier… wish i could do something about that..

  7. At the end of a hectic day there is nothing more welcome than a cozy bed and a warm blanket. And now here in this desert it is winter – it is naturally cool and we are not disturbed by the sound of the air conditioner. Luckily I have never had trouble falling asleep and so is my husband. Still, something keeps us awake till midnight – our two naughty girls.
    Loved the way you have presented the points!

    • Hi Bindu hope you are feeling warmer… I hate feeling cold…

      When we visit Pakistan we find it so hard going to sleep as the fans and AC keep us a wake.. it usually takes a few nights for us to finally get used to it… the jet lag doesnt help either… but there what is fabulous is the afternoon siestas… from around 1pm to 5 its sleep time. no matter what you are doing you just drop it and go to sleep… I loved living there😛

    • Konstantina hi there… it’s so true.. Im so grumpy when I’m tired… I tell my family to just keep away from me … they are used to it now… they will actually tell me to go and get some sleep ..🙂

  8. Well I often burn the candle at both ends Princess
    so i am used to having less sleep, though given the
    opportunity I do like a nice relaxing sleep… Now all
    I have to do is round up all those Zombies before I
    slide oon the lid🙂😉 lol Have a lovely Sleeeeep🙂

    And another thing, be good for a change😉 lol

    Androgoth XXx

    • It’s hard being good but I do try… Bobby is really the naughty one… I just follow his lead😛

      Speaking of zombies.. someone said there will be a zombie invasion soon.. do u know anything about it😛

  9. hey! a very interesting post, particularly because i used to have huge problems sleeping early. My cycle was, and pretty much still is terrible, where my natural cycle means i would prefer to sleep at 3 am and wake up at 12, have breakfast at 2 etc.

    You’re right, it is important to have a regular sleep pattern. I didn’t have this before, and it’s only after it hits you you realise how important sleep is for your health.

    I know its recommended that we have 8 hours (i think) sleep a night, but thats never enough for me, and i never get 8 hours anyway, usually only 6, because of work etc.

    i wonder how much sleep people usually get!

    on another note, our bodies are amazing, but what the hell! 8 hours/ day wasted snoring away to wake up feeling less refreshed! couldn’t we just be connected to the matrix or something. shocking.

    • HI mamaji… I find when I change my diet I sleep better at night and my day passes good too.. but problem is I don’t get to bed till very late due to how our family’s routine is then I’m back up again early.

      I changed my pillows the other day and these ones are lower and they have made such a difference… im not tossing and turning so much..

      I don’t want to be connected to anything… coz i dont sleep well I have no energy to do anything… my ambition is to just sleep all day😛

  10. Thanks for these reminders, Princess!😉

    Being a parent has a big impact on one’s sleep (as I am sure you will discover!), so it is especially useful to be reminded of the little things one can do to maximise one’s chances…🙂

    • I’m not a parent but we do have kids in the house.. and sometimes they sleep after I do… they come into my room and sit on my bed and watch tv till all hours… sometimes they go to bed without turning the tv off…

      kids eh😛

Leave a Reply

