Knock knock

I started this poem of as something funny but somehow it just got all morbid and dark… Don’t know what happened… I just killed him off!! What else could I do… He was late…

Actually I’m not really sure what is going on in my head😦

I hear a knock,
A window shatter
It’s you? It’s not?
It doesn’t matter!

Was it not today?
Or was it tomorrow?
What did you really say?
Will this lead to a quarrel?

How much longer
Must I wait?
Dressed in my best frock
For our special date.

Tick tock! Tick tock!
I tap my my feet
In my fancy heels
To the beat of the clock.

Have you forgetten?
I now feeling itchy in my dress
Where are you?
My heads a muddle and a mess.

A few fruitless calls later
My anxiety and anticipation
Is getting greater and greater.
And slowly slowly comes a realisation.

There’s someone at the door…
Heads bowed, hats tucked under arms.
Nooooooo noooooooo
Not you! Not you!

Two cars colliding
Not a chance they said
They talked so low
As if they were confiding.

With just a knock
My heart is shattered
You were mines all mine
You were all that mattered.

A single red rose
Is my goodbye
Ashes to ashes
Dust to dust

To him we belong
To him we shall return.

27 responses to “Knock knock

  1. Morbid. Dark. I wouldn’t say a muddled mind, but tidy enough to construct a nice poem, nice.

    Maybe it’s not guys letting you down, but a more powerful force behind all this drama we are part of.

    ATTACHMENT! That’s our weakness. We know the inevitable yet clouded minds deter us from understanding and accepting.

    Whatever happened to that pretty frock? Forever destined to dust?

    Nice writing Aneesa.

    • I used to write a lot of poetry and then stopped. A few days ago one of my friends said I should write again. I tried and he messages my last night and asked “why make it so morbid and sad” I will try again. Lol

      I don’t think guys let me down I think I let them down and then it all goes pear shaped.

      Sigh! No one understands me.😦

      • Question is, do you want to be understood? Where’s the fun if you are understood, takes away the mystery, the magic of life and we no longer become special. It’s what books are written on, mountains are climbed, sleepless nights encountered – it’s all about the lack of understanding and the yearn to learn more.

        I think there’s something Dark about Happy Endings….now that makes me strange I know….there’s only one way after a Happy Ending and that’s down….but when you are down, there’s great Hope.

        Be in the comfort that there is a more stranger mind out there then yours🙂

  2. Sombre ending but a great poem Aneesa, but I know what you mean, they seem to have a life of their own sometimes. (and it’s one way to get rid of the aggro without damaging a hair on his head.,.. by just using your imagination…😀 ) … xPenx

    • hahaah Pen well said… I think my sick fantasies or all coming out now…😛
      This did take on a life of its own… i was in bed lying on my side with my iPhone when i wrote it.. half asleep🙂 xx

  3. Nice poem though ur last two lines or w.e u call them in poetry really do remind me of what we (Muslims) say when we hear about the death of someone. Anyhow nice poem🙂

  4. A very sad twist.
    They way I see it, the moral of the story (for those of us who like to be on time and expect others to be) is to always take into account that there could be a very good reason for someone turning up late….or not, in the case of this unfortunate man.

    A good poem though Aneesa.

    Enjoy the rest of your evening.😉

Leave a Reply

