I know who I am.

These past few weeks have been a muddle of thoughts and emotions. I feel like I’ve come out a dark tunnel that was so low I had to stoop to walk through, stoop so low my back was bent over double.

Now I’m out the glare of the light is hitting my eyes and my whole is body is grateful to be able to stretch again but yet I still feel stiff.

Stiff as in slow to move on and appreciate what I have learnt on my travel through this dark dingy tunnel that blinded me into darkness and dulled my senses.

The glare hitting my eyes is slowing starting to see things clearly as I adjust to my surroundings of a new depth and understanding of myself.

One thing I do know is who I am, who I was and who I will always be.

I know now that I can’t be someone I’m not. I can’t change my thinking and pretend I am someone or something else. I can’t change values that have been instilled in me from as far back as I can remember. Values that I hold dear and live my life accordingly. Principles that will never waver.

I can’t be wrong when I have to always be right.

I have to be true to myself, if that’s not possible then how can I be true to anyone else? Who will appreciate me when I can’t appreciate myself?

I think before anyone sets out to demand another person fits their ideal mould they should first ask themselves do they want a manufactured “perfect” friend/partner or do they want someone that’s real and genuine who is being themselves and not forcing it to just please you.

I also think one should look at themselves first and see just how honest they are being to their own selves.

Because if a person is confident and happy in their own skin they will never feel they need to change anyone else.

24 responses to “I know who I am.

  1. Very true Aneesa my friend – I hope things get better for you because you have friends who care for you and you know how we worry!🙂

    Now you are out of the tunnel, take time out to enjoy your surroundings and remember this: Above all to thine own self be true and as night begats day thou shalt not be false to anyone else.

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. YEs , we are what we are and those who remain who they are , succeed in life .. people who change at drop of hat are worthless in my eyes and dont deserve my respect of anything …

    I too keep saying I am who I am .. take it or Leave it🙂 simple

    I am sure you will do great , take your time and be patient All the best

    • I don’t mind change as long as it comes from within and it’s what you want… Not because its what someone else expects of you or demands it or pressures you for it.

      You are so right… If someone can’t accept you as you are then they should just leave you to it.

      Hope your weekend goes well🙂

  3. Welcome back Madam🙂

    On a serious note: hope you are feeling better and if you are more contempt within yourself then that’s a great thing for you and for the future that lies ahead.

    On a lighter note: hope the self realisation hasn’t taken away your “wit” and “sense of humour”….:-P

    Good to have you back, have a nice weekend

    • I do feel better… Apart from a bit of sadness that I lost someone that I thought meant something and thought was worth doing something about. But that’s life… We learn and move on… Take the positives with you and learn from the mistakes.

      And don’t worry I’m still me :p

  4. You do need to be true to yourself, however to think that the “yourself” never changes would be wrong, to always hold on to same principles would in some cases mean no growth. Sure hold on to your belief as long as they serve their purpose. but do not close of the possibility of growth. Because no matter how you look at it, the you you are today, will not be the you you are tomorrow…not completely at least

    • Like i said before I’m all for change and growth and I’m constantly changing, maturing and learning. But change is only good if it’s positive and makes you a better person.

      It’s not good when you are going backwards or turning into a person that isn’t doing you or anyone any favours.

      I just need too look back 6 months and I see how much I’ve grown and changed and it’s all good. And that’s how it should be.

  5. Nice piece, I think you are right on, that while we are constantly changing, knowing who we are is key to living joyfully.

    I nominated you for A Lovely Blog Award, details are on my page. Hope you like and have some fun with it🙂

  6. Hi Aneesa!🙂

    Yeah I too wish I could just hibernate through the winter, but I guess we’re as God made us…(sigh!)

    Hope you have a lovely weekend my friend!🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  7. You have summed this one up all by yourself Aneesa and perfection is unrealistic, just be whom you are and do not seek out perfection in others as an observation of perfection is often flawed in the sense that what they are projecting is not a real representation and will, in time crumble. Genuineness is always the most excellent, the unsurpassed and the true, I mean anything else is just artificial isn’t it my great friend?

    Have a lovely rest of evening now Aneesa🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    • You are so right O’dark one… the genuine ones will have longevity and will be here a right till the end…

      Thanks for such kind words… I always look forward to your comments…🙂

      Hope your weekend has gone well…

      huggggzzzzz

      • I just write it how I see it my great friend, we all learn from each other and if we are true to ourselves and not hesitate we can offer our wisdom in the knowledge that we are reflecting a truly positive edge, and hopefully in doing so we can pass on those good vibes to each other in the process.

        I know that optimism is always the best way forwards and that we should always follow our own instincts, indeed our true nature and character is built upon a sound understanding of the polite, the honest and the straightforwardness of life.

        You are definitely thinking positively and
        confidently Aneesa and if you feel it is the
        right course to follow then it clearly is…

        Androgoth XXx

  8. Its always amazing to come to terms with your own self. Oh and really awesome that you believe in your principles to take a stand for them. Wish you the best of luck🙂

    • Thanks… But you know it doesn’t come easily… You cross a lot of bridges and fall of a lot before you get to where I am.

      I hate making mistakes and being wrong. I’m my own worst critic, judge and juror.

      But I know now …. And that’s what matters most… I won’t be so easily won over next time.🙂

    • Thanks and yes things can only get better from here… because letting it overtake me would be stepping back when im only wanting to move forward…

  9. I don’t know the details of your life, Aneesa, but I have also been through quite a lengthy process of “getting to know myself” – since becoming a dad (3-and-a-quarter years ago! How time scoots and whizzes…) and, subsequently, finally finding a career that suits me, I feel that I am now at the point of “knowing who I am”… pretty much… although I’m always open to further change!

    Anyway, good luck in your continued self-realisation…😉

    • It’s good to know that you too have reached that.

      But it’s more about also knowing what and who I’m not. That really helps.🙂

      Thanks for dropping by.😉

Leave a Reply

