My Mean Mother!

Somewhere I once read that until your child doesn’t tell you they hate you, you are not doing a proper job of parenting. We would never have dreamt of saying such a thing to our parents but there were times I’ve felt it because of the restrictions etc that they put on us

I love this story and I bet it rings true to a lot of people and especially some parents out there…

I had the meanest mother in the whole world. While other kids ate candy for breakfast, I had to have cereal, eggs or toast. When others had cokes and candy for lunch, I had to eat a sandwich. As you can guess, my supper was different than the other kids’ also.

But at least, I wasn’t alone in my sufferings. My sister and two brothers had the same mean mother as I did.

My mother insisted upon knowing where we were at all times. You’d think we were on a chain gang. She had to know who our friends were and where we were going. She insisted if we said we’d be gone an hour, that we be gone one hour or less–not one hour and one minute. I am nearly ashamed to admit it, but she actually struck us. Not once, but each time we had a mind of our own and did as we pleased. That poor belt was used more on our seats than it was to hold up Daddy’s pants. Can you imagine someone actually hitting a child just because he disobeyed? Now you can begin to see how mean she really was.

We had to wear clean clothes and take a bath. The other kids always wore their clothes for days. We reached the height of insults because she made our clothes herself, just to save money. Why, oh why, did we have to have a mother who made us feel different from our friends?

The worst is yet to come. We had to be in bed by nine each night and up at eight the next morning. We couldn’t sleep till noon like our friends. So while they slept-my mother actually had the nerve to break the child-labor law. She made us work. We had to wash dishes, make beds, learn to cook and all sorts of cruel things. I believe she laid awake at night thinking up mean things to do to us.

She always insisted upon us telling the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, even if it killed us- and it nearly did.

By the time we were teen-agers, she was much wiser, and our life became even more unbearable. None of this tooting the horn of a car for us to come running. She embarrassed us to no end by making our dates and friends come to the door to get us. If I spent the night with a girlfriend, can you imagine she checked on me to see if I were really there. I never had the chance to elope to Mexico. That is if I’d had a boyfriend to elope with. I forgot to mention, while my friends were dating at the mature age of 12 and 13, my old fashioned mother refused to let me date until the age of 15 and 16. Fifteen, that is, if you dated only to go to a school function. And that was maybe twice a year.

Through the years, things didn’t improve a bit. We could not lie in bed, “sick” like our friends did, and miss school. If our friends had a toe ache, a hang nail or serious ailment, they could stay home from school. Our marks in school had to be up to par. Our friends’ report cards had beautiful colors on them, black for passing, red for failing. My mother being as different as she was, would settle for nothing less than ugly black marks.

As the years rolled by, first one and then the other of us was put to shame. We were graduated from high school. With our mother behind us, talking, hitting and demanding respect, none of us was allowed the pleasure of being a drop-out.

My mother was a complete failure as a mother. Out of four children, a couple of us attained some higher education. None of us have ever been arrested, divorced or beaten his mate. Each of my brothers served his time in the service of this country. And whom do we have to blame for the terrible way we turned out? You’re right, our mean mother. Look at the things we missed. We never got to march in a protest parade, nor to take part in a riot, burn draft cards, and a million and one other things that our friends did.

She forced us to grow up into God-fearing, educated, honest adults. Using this as a background, I am trying to raise my three children. I stand a little taller and I am filled with pride when my children call me mean.

Because, you see, I thank God, he gave me the meanest mother in the whole world.

29 responses to “My Mean Mother!

  1. I pass! Cept for the belt thing, that’s uncool but the rest? I’m totally a meanie 🙂 And proud of it! Whew… 🙂

    • no not mines… they are mostly of my fav actress.. if you change pages the header changes randomly.. so u will see different ones… her eyes are gorgeous… 🙂

    • She does.. but it’s a shame that when we are younger we don’t see it… i remember when i was at school i was forever being told of for not fastening my coat or wearing a scarf or hat… and i would ignore her… i used to think she is spoiling my style… and all she was worried about was me falling ill… and when i would she would tell me off more.. 😦

  2. Again no reference -.- It wouldn’t kill you, you know -.- But ah well its like Napoleon said, “The future destiny of a child is always the work of the mother”

  3. Well I do pray that we havr more of such MEAN mothers . World will be such a lovely place if sich mean-ness comes to every parent…

    Lovely article I am proud my parents were equally mean. And I am what I am mow because of that.

    • Did you know this before or do you see it only now because you are older and wiser? I feel bad that we fight our parents on some things when the truth is they only care…

      my nephew (I’m his legal guardian aswell) fights me all the way… he is 16 and keeps saying i dont trust him… truth is its others i dont trust… he wants me to let him walk him home from his mates house on his own.. problem is he has to pass through a run down council estate… and i refuse… i tell him i will pick you up.. and he just flips.. its got to the point that for his own safety i dont let him go… he thinks i’m evil and twisted…

  4. Something has made me rethink about what I am doing right now for my girls – I stitch the dresses and the school uniforms for them – the first is just out of passion and the second of course helps them have more durable uniforms and helps us parents save a big deal of money. I hope my children will avoid that point if they are writing this. 🙂 Wonderful story!
    – A mean mother.

    • my mom stitched my pinafore for me when i went to hight school.. it was gorgeous and was made with so much love and she was so proud when i wore it…

      i say keep it up… even if today kids don’s see what we do for them.. one day they will and appreciate it…

  5. I Love it! I guess then my mother is mean too, she only just stopped slapping me because it hurt her hand 🙂

    Kids find this an irony (well confusing), but we tell them off because we LOVE THEM, if we didn’t LOVE THEM, I guess we wouldn’t ask them how their day was or how things were in general.

    It’s because a mean mother or father cares that they watch over their kids……

    D.

    • hahaha i walloped my nephew the other day .. and i must say i thought the same thing…

      No1 he is way too tall to clip around the ear… i have to kinda jump now…

      No2 this hurts me more! my hand was aching! but he is a cheeky little git.. and sometimes he drives me up the wall…

      Sometimes i wonder if any of them will appreciate me .. i know they don’t now but i’m hoping one day they will see what i did for them …

      I think we should show kids other kids that are from homes of neglect so they can see how lucky and priveledged (sp dam spell check isn’t working!) they are.

    • Thanks debbie for dropping by… my mom was amazing… now i’m older i appreciate her more… I wish she was still here so i could tell her.. but i know wherever she is she is feeling it…

  6. There are many ways in showing love, this is just one. Like always we think more about what other people will think than knowing what is right. This story just goes to show how a mother is able to do what she ‘knows’ is right, as opposed to what other people believe to be right.

    Good story.

    • I think a mother’s love is above all else it’s unconditional and it’s rare a mother will put others first before her own children or care what others think when she is bringing them up…

      I have that responsibility at the moment and i rarely care what others think… i just do what i think is right… and i get hell from all sides for it.. but you know what i think.. one day they will appreciate it… they will know what i gave up for them and why i do what i do… that i took on the role of a mother and took it seriously and responsibly….

  7. My mother is not this mean. She is so good that she makes me look bad and that’s when I think she is being mean.
    Confusing right?

    Anyway Its right to be God fearing, well mannered and successful but at the same time hitting your kids and doing things like showing them the black and white side of life, that is not right I think. Be strict but be gentle as well. Let you kids have a little fun. Let them grow. So what if they are not always scoring high, give them hope for the next time and so on.
    We have an example of our Prophet (P.B.U.H). The best example. He made God fearing me with love and gentleness.

    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

