Dolled up gym bunnies….

Glossy lips, bronzed cheeks, painted nails, long curled lashes and hair coiffed within an inch of its life.  Not my local beauty salon, sadly, but the women you can expect to see at the gym nowadays.

The mind boggles; why do women feel the need to work out with a perfectly made-up face and a flawlessly styled barnet? I have to say I’m a regular gym bunny and love the buzz I get from a hard, sweaty work out. The last thing I want to think about is my mascara running down my face or my gym towel with foundation smears all over it.

Yuck!  I have nothing against make up. I’m a fan and use it to cover all manner of sins. I insist on putting some make up on and making myself look presentable whether it’s to go to the supermarket or fill up the car with petrol. But it simply doesn’t work for me at the gym; I am there to work hard and get sweaty.  Blocked pores, spots, panda eyes, melting foundation? No thanks. The last thing on my mind when pounding the treadmill is looking gorgeous. What’s the point?

At the risk of creating a stereotype, I can guarantee if I duck to the bathroom before my aerobics class it’s likely I will see at least one woman touching up her lippy.  You know who I’m talking about, the posers who ponce about on the machines for 10 minutes at level zero having a good gossip with their fellow gym poser. Either that or talking irritatingly loud on their mobiles with a face full of make up that looks like it would take a week to scrape off.

I can’t help but be intrigued by this group of women. It’s annoyingly obvious they got dolled up to attract the attention of the bodybuilding set. I’m struggling to understand why anyone would want to waste £50 plus a month pretending to break a sweat for an hour at the gym, only to go home and post a smug Facebook status about how hard they have worked out in an attempt to impress everyone! (Facebook really needs to hurry up and develop a dislike button.)

What’s going on? The gym is a place where red faces, sweaty pits and lank hair are part of the territory. But many women are putting serious effort into their appearance before stepping foot on the treadmill.  Maybe its because the gym is becoming an increasingly fashionable place to be seen in? Or has it become the new hunting ground for potential partners? So here’s a note to the dolled-up gym bunnies out there: its normal to sweat when exercising, its not normal to look like you’re about to go clubbing.

I can’t help but be intrigued by this group of women. It’s annoyingly obvious they got dolled up to attract the attention of the bodybuilding set. I’m struggling to understand why anyone would want to waste £50 plus a month pretending to break a sweat for an hour at the gym, only to go home and post a smug Facebook status about how hard they have worked out in an attempt to impress everyone! (Facebook really needs to hurry up and develop a dislike button.)

What’s going on? The gym is a place where red faces, sweaty pits and lank hair are part of the territory. But many women are putting serious effort into their appearance before stepping foot on the treadmill.  Maybe its because the gym is becoming an increasingly fashionable place to be seen in? Or has it become the new hunting ground for potential partners? So here’s a note to the dolled-up gym bunnies out there: its normal to sweat when exercising, its not normal to look like you’re about to go clubbing.

Leave a Reply

