Has This Happened To You?

20120403-134505.jpg

This pic reminds of those times you see someone’s profile picture and think “WOW!!!! This person looks super hot/sexy” instantly your curiosity and interest is triggered. You send a friend request on FB or add them on twitter or google+. You can’t wait to talk to them finally they accept your request or you accept theirs if they had already sent one. Then you decide to take a closer look at their photo albums (because you just have to see more of this person) and feel the wind going out your sails.

Why do people do this? Put up amazing super awesome profile pics. Then put up albums of themselves that look nothing like their profile pics? Are you following me?

So what if one day the camera was kind to you and made you look like a film star/pop star/model… It isn’t really you!! You are leading people into an illusion that only leads to disappointment.

Either keep the illusion going that you are looking freakingly awesome and post pics of that calibre inside your profile as well… or… Just post pictures of where you look normal and the camera captured your natural normal everyday look and not your film star look. Then people like me won’t have that build up and let down that we get when we click on you.

Maybe I’m being a bit over the top but this is really starting to annoy me. Got it off my chest now so feel much better already ;)

75 responses to “Has This Happened To You?

  1. To answer your question – has this happened to me? The answer is NO. However, I understand the situation and what eggs such behavior is both the desperation of the viewer who is constantly scrolling for the next online thrill, endless hours of bluff talk, and the desperation of the person who has edited their pick to loom super hot and know its a bait to attract people.

    My advice is to simply stop feeding this troll as the end result is simply disappointment and more importantly waste of time.

  2. I never send a friend request looking at the foto and nor do i accept a request.. Simple ..

    people are weird , this can be classified as betrayal of trust and all that .. you can actually go and report these people :)

    so now tell us who did this he he he

    • I’ve never sent a friend request either, it’s one of my fb rules, but I do manoeuvre things so the other person adds me instead, it’s more like a challenge :P

      Having said that I do like it if the profile is interesting… I’m human and good looks interest everyone, having said that I do think on line it’s your personality that eventually works for you not what you put up in your profile although it does help lol

      Report where? fb? what would one say to them… “Dear facebook this person’s profile pic is really disappointing, I thought he was really good looking, turns out he’s not! Burn him for misleading me!”

      It’s not just one person that I can tell you about… it’s happened loads of times with so many different people.

  3. Princess Laila,
    Your post made me laugh. And although it does not apply to me as Le Clown is uber hot, I still like to laugh at others not so hotness.
    Le Pretty Clown

  4. Lmao funny thing thing here.

    I mean:we all do it.We all only put the best pic of us as our main profile pic.The sad part comes in when they look totally different in other pics.Women are main culprits of this(makeup can alter appearance lol).

    • So true but then that’s to be expected that women will have make up on.. but what excuses do guys have?

      I once saw this guy who looked piping hot and when I saw his other pictures it was clear the main one was taken like 20 years earlier… i did wish I could turn back time… not go forward :P

  5. Great post! It’s right on with what happens to many single folks seeking a possible relationship.
    It’s happened to me many times! Old photos portrayed as new ones … “a few extra pounds” turns out to be “many extra pounds” … ridiculous!

  6. Hi Aneesa! :)

    I NEVER primp my pictures – I’m a fat fifty something and quite happy to be myself! :)

    Given the habit of some people to use pictures of other people as their gravatar, I don’t trust what I see anyway! :)

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • You don’t need to primp your pics you are one handsome devil Prenin, inside and out… :)

      You’re like me I don’t trust people so quickly… i can smell an imposter a mile off…

      Hugggzzzzzz

  7. As I am not on FB, can’t answer that question, however, some related captions to further illustrate your point:

    #Prices from as little as 1.99
    #Buy One Get One Free
    #70% discount on selected items (in other words that one item on a rack in the corner)

    Not all that seems at first glance is true.

    • Yeah I do have it closed off… But you will have noticed that my pics are consistent and I don’t display one on my profile…

      Plus I deactivated Facebook over a month ago ;)

  8. It’s never happened to me, but then I don’t go looking either. I wouldn’t lie about something like that either – I see it as being a complete waste of everyone’s time.

    I don’t think I could be bothered to deal with anyone who did that kind of thing.

    • I know what you mean… I’ve come across some right bare faced liars in my time.

      There was one girl on Fb that made out she was rich gorgeous and it was too good to be true… kept putting pics up of her partying and clubbing, bikini shots the lot… something just wasn’t right… she kept cropping the photos to cut people and locations out and then it clicked the photos were fake… she was from India and all the pics were from the Uk… she had Uk car plates in the background in some of her pics that she claimed were taken in India… As soon as it came out she deactivated her account and disappeared… leaving alot of guys heart broken…

      So I never take anything at face value… I take my time and never take people too seriously who I have doubts over…

  9. I never forget I was dating 10 years ago or so … It turned out one big fiasco cause people on those sites were not honest about themselves , or what you say here : no pics or a kind of mss Universe look . And they all loved travelling , walking through woods , look at sunsets and all kind of the same crab . Till I met some of them and my imagination had an total different picture as reality was hahahahahaha . I quit dating over the internet and found my biggest love in the real world .
    Another thing : you can make a profile on certain dating sites , but if you want to post something or get answers , you have to pay , and that’s something people don’t like . So the majority of all those pimped pics are not able to react . So it doesn’t work at all . And that’s I think a big shortcoming : internet is soo anonymous , and lots of people think they can just do what they want . I don’t like this either , and it is not over the top .
    Bottomline : Be yourself . Not less , not more . And the pictures ? Offcourse I also have some on my site , and to be honest I didn’t make them when I just came out of my bed in the early morning hahahaha . But on the other side I was not dressed up like Ben ( the friend of Barbie :p ) , I was just me , a weirdo from the Netherlands :-)

    • I so agree with you… I don’t use dating sites etc and I’m not looking to date on line but I do enjoy making friends and have come to know some pretty amazing people on the net… from fb and my blog

      I like seeing a selection of pictures of a person in casual and smart clothes and u do expect them to not be perfect and let’s face it who is… but that doesn’t mean it’s ok to mislead people…

      when people lie on dating sites.. don’t they realise it will eventually come out what they really are or what they really look like?

      Once one of my mates travelled all the way to meet his gf he met on line in a chat room.. once he got there he realised she was about 50 years old and had been using her daughters pics… he was so upset… but he told me this women begged him to go home with her and still continue his holiday… he said it was the best holiday he ever had… she really was as nice as she was on line just looked older… to this day they are still best friends….

      • Good end of the story ! For myself ….. it happens to me once , the lady in facto didn’t publisize any picture , always excuses ( camera broken …. ) and I met her and really , she was much older ….. omg , I stay for a coffee and after this there was only a beeping sound caming from my tyres and I was gone :-)
        It was a good lesson for myself hahahahahaha , enjoy your eastern weekend !

  10. What I find really annoying is when a person puts up an old pic of themselves or even like you said the one photo they look like a super model in and then you meet them in person and they weigh 75lbs more, have lost their hair and are 2 in shorter than what they said. Why lie? If you’re on a dating site didn’t you plan on meeting? I was bound to find out you are only 5’8″ so why lie?

    • Hey is this a dating site? I didn’t know that LWAT
      and yes I am just kidding with you so watch it :) ;) lol

      BTW…

      How Are You? ;)

      Androgoth XXx

      • Im doing Andro.. right now I’m attending a wedding with about 8 different functions that will be leading up to the big day next week… its fun but exhausting too… so a bit busy with that… today I’m catching up on comments here…

        Hope you are doing ok and being good… you know what I mean :P

        hugggzzzzzzzzzzz

    • I think they assume their awesome personality will win the person over and when they meet looks wont matter… forgetting the fact that they have mislead a person and broken a trust.

  11. Hey don’t be looking too closely at my photographs Princess or else I will have to come over and guive yours the once over, noooooo I mean your photographs cheeky :) ;) Hey I think that I will do some up-to-date one’s soon, though I do have the date stamps on some of them you just need to look closer but watch out for all those wrinkles :) lol Have fun looking at all of your friends photographs my great friend :) I know what you mean though…

    Androgoth XXx

    • I like the pic you use on your Gravatar, it’s so in tune with the theme of your blog… looking forward to seeing your updated pics… i’m sure they will be awesome as yourself…

      You always do get me… I’ve just been browsing a profile of a friend who just got engaged his fiance is gorgeous… she has about 100 pics up… i love looking at pics…
      :P

      • Well I already have some pictures up of my ugly mug, I think it is under the extra page called ‘Gothic’ not sure now it’s been a while since I looked :) lol But I will do a few new one’s soon and add them there, hey nobody ever calls me cute so that is a first :) lol I hope you have some Easter Eggs put away for a nice feast on Sunday? :) I have already noshed mine and so it will have to be peanut butter on crackers or a rich tea biscuit with my coffee ;) lol Have fun today Princess and be good :)

        Androgoth XXx

          • Hey I would have got you one :)
            And probably helped you to eat
            it too knowing me ;) lol

            Have a sweet weekend Princess :)

            Androgoth XXx

  12. I saw this graphic that said ‘Your facebook profile picture is how you want people to think you look, your tagged photos show what you really like.’ Or something to that affect .

    However, I would like to say that I am not a stalker so I don’t really perve on peoples profile pics :P :D

    • I’ve been called a stalker quite a few times I must say… and I could teach you a few things about stalking :P… but I don’t perv on pics that’s just yuck!!!

      Already another post is starting to take shape in my head… thanks to you :P

  13. Sometimes I fear that people will be disappointed if they meet me in real-life because the pictures I put on my blog are usually some of my best. :)

    Bad habit. Good post!

  14. No It Happened to me because pics cant tell you about who or a person is even as in person people wear masks so it’s better not to expect anything and wait because someday you will meet your prince. Just be PATIENT!

  15. Um that is kinda harsh… I mean its their profile and their choice how they choose to present themselves to the world… besides adding someone just because they look hot or sexy is kind of a silly reason…

  16. I gotta tell ya, I have great pics of myself and then in the last couple of years I don’t photograph well at all, but live and in person I look fine. s’totally true… :)

Leave a Reply

